Additive Alert

Well I have been pretty slack this last week with my blog but I have a good excuse – life!
Gosh it just gets busy sometimes doesn’t it!  

Something I have been meaning to write about for ages is food additives.
Food additives are actually what started me on the path I am now on as my daughter had food intolerances.
Basically this means she reacts in various ways to natural and unnatural food chemicals.
Natural food chemicals occur in all fruit and vegetable in varying degrees, for example onions have a high chemical level while green beans have a low chemical level. (We eat a lot of green beans!).
Olivia’s food intolerances have taken our whole family on an amazing journey of learning and have made me realise how many artificial chemicals are in everyday food, the more I have learnt over the years the more I am appalled that no governing body steps in and says “hey lets stop manufactures giving our children this absolute rubbish”  I wish!  It is a fight all the way I’m afraid, and one that keeps me on my toes.

The following is an excert from Additive Alert
“It’s a sad fact, but food is not just food anymore. Over the past 50 years the use of food additives has skyrocketed to the point where very few of us have any real idea exactly what’s in the food we eat. Alarmingly, the rates of diseases such as cancer, obesity, diabetes, autism, depression, asthma and ADHD have also increased dramatically over this time. Every year, Australians consume over 5kg of food additives each, yet how many of us really know what these chemicals do, which ones are safe and which ones are known to be harmful?
 

 

Thankfully, not all food additives are harmful. In fact, of the 300 or so additives approved for use in Australia, most of them are safe, well tested and pose no problem for most people. However, there are at least 60 food additives used in our foods which are at best questionable in terms of safety, or at worse, known to be harmful.”

So I want to let you know about a fantastic campaign on right now to rid out foods of this chemical rubbish in our foods called Kids First Campaign by Additive Alert.  Please have a look and even add your name to the petition, there really is no need for our foods to be full of these harmful additives when natural alternatives are available… can you see where I got the idea for natural skin care! lol

3 Comments »

  1. Kez Said:

    As you know, it’s something we’re quite aware of too – with much thanks to Sue Dengate.. Off to sign the petition now – thanks!

  2. joliv Said:

    Thanks Kez, most appreciated.I’m also (in my spare times – lol) “encouraging” Olivia’s school to get rid of additives……. they are slowly slowly coming round.
    🙂

  3. What a great post. The effects of additives are so detrimental to children and their families and can create so many awful illnesses. We all need to stand together to ensure this is stopped. http://www.mynewshinyshoes.com/additive-alert/


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

